ACC releases preseason voting results

The Seminoles were the likely ACC champions on 118 ballots, followed by defending national champion and two-time defending ACC champion Clemson with 35 votes.

To no surprise, reigning Heisman Trophy victor Lamar Jackson is the heavy favorite to win the conference’s player of the year award, leading the pack with 113 votes.

The conference announced the media’s preseason predictions for order of finish and the player of the year voting and Florida State and Miami were chosen as the favorites to win their respective divisions. The Hurricanes received 103 first-place votes, followed by Virginia Tech’s 40, Georgia Tech’s nine, Pittsburgh’s seven and North Carolina and Duke, who each received four.

BC was picked last in the Atlantic Division, trailing Florida State, Clemson, Louisville, NC State, Wake Forest, and Syracuse.

Jimbo Fisher’s FSU team received 121 first-place votes to win the Atlantic Division, while Dabo Swinney and Clemson got 37.

Louisville returns 14 starters from last season’s 9-4 team that finished as co-champions of the ACC’s Atlantic Division with a 7-1 conference record and participated in the Citrus Bowl.

Preseason accolades are being handed out across the nation and football’s Lamar Jackson is tabbed as the ACC’s preseason Player of the Year by the media. “I think it makes for a great opportunity for the Canes to get to their first ACC championship game”. Oakleaf high school alum Shaq Quarterman received one vote for player of the year.