Cracks in TMC visible with six MLAs voting for Kovind

Lawmakers have begun to cast their votes to elect the 14 President of India.

For marking the votes, the Election Commission will provide special pens to the electors in the polling booth along with the ballot paper. He expressed unhappiness that Health Minister C. Laxma Reddy and four MLAs had not attended the meeting. On the other hand, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, said it would have been better if the President had been chosen by consensus.

“Because all MPs don’t necessarily vote only according to conscience, they also vote according to party lines and party lines are divided somewhat on ideology, principles and political positioning”.

The party yesterday conducted a meeting of its MLAs to familiarise them with the voting procedure.

He termed it “probably the highest percentage of votes polled ever (in Presidential poll)” and attributed it to enthusiasm among the electors. This signifies that Goa and even other small states have important position as far as NDA is concerned.

“The voting went very peacefully”. Nine ballot boxes will reach Delhi on Monday while the rest will reach here on Tuesday as per schedule. Kovind is scheduled to meet MPs and MLAs in Gandhinagar. The BJP commands the most votes in parliament and in the states.

“The biggest reason for the deteriorating situation in the state is the failure of the chief minister”, he said.

With the State have a small population, the votes of the individual MLA is 17 each while that of an MP is 708 with Meghalaya being a small State. TRS and BJD have already declared their support to Kovind and YSR Congress, headed by Y S Jaganmohan Reddy, has also reiterated its support to the BJP candidate. “We had announced it earlier itself because we can not vote for a candidate who was supported by the CPI-M”, Sudip Burman, one of the sacked TMC legislators, told reporters. “In these contests, the numbers may be against us, but the battle must be fought and fought hard”, she said.