MIM Ends Presidential Elections Dilemma

The Congress and NCP in their meeting also said that like minded parties such as CPM, Samajwadi Party, Peasants and Workers Party and MIM will vote for the UPA nominee Meira Kumar.

In Punjab, senior Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader and former Leader of Opposition in the Assembly H S Phoolka has categorically said that he will not vote for Congress-backed Meira Kumar as supporting her is tantamount to betraying the victims of the 1984 anti-Sikh riots. They interacted with the Assembly secretary Raja Sadaram to know about the arrangements being made for the presidential elections to be held on Monday.

“All rumours are baseless and should be ignored”, he said.

“I respect Meira Kumar ji but will not vote for her as she has been backed by the Congress which continues to shield perpetrators of anti-Sikh riots”, Phoolka said.

Meanwhile, a BJP leader claimed that besides the NDA’s share of 186 votes in the state, the alliance hopes to increase its tally to 205 with a split in the UPA camp. The All India Congress Committee (AICC) has directed the local unit to maintain party affiliations and sent AICC observer Siddharth Patel to negotiate between the MLAs and PCC members here. It also has one Member of Parliament.

In all, there are 355 votes – comprising 288 MLAs, 48 Lok Sabha and 19 Rajya Sabha MPs from the state. The total value of votes of the 248 NDA votes is 69,517, whereas the total value of votes of 104 UPA votes is 26,728.