Voting for Prez election today at Vidhana Soudha

“Today the monsoon session begins”. The counting of votes will take place in Parliament on July 20.

After the ink controversy in the Rajya Sabha polls in Haryana a year ago, the EC has made a decision to give special pens to the electors to mark their votes in the presidential and vice-presidential polls. JD (S), which has been vocal against the two national parties, has announced its decision to support Meira Kumar in the poll. Former UP chief minister Akhilesh Yadav is not eligible to vote as he is the member of the legislative council.

The people of the Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democratic and Republic India do not elect its own president directly.

President of India will be elected by the Electoral college comprising of all the elected members of Rajya Sabha, Lok Sabha, and Legislative Assemblies of the States in India. The voting is through secret ballot.

Among them, a total of 993 members have serious criminal cases against them. Like this the vote value of an MLA of Manipur is 18 (17.8792). The poll panel has also appointed 33 observers to keep vigil and oversee the conduct during the polls.

Except this, on the other hand, Lok Sabha MPs 445 (82%) out of 543, 194 (84%) out of 231 Rajya Sabha MPs, 2721 (68%) out of 4,078 MLAs from all state and UT congregations are multi-tycoons. All MPs have a similar vote value of 708.

Usually, MPs vote in Parliament House and MLAs in their respective state assemblies.

The 2017 Presidential Elections are being fought between Ram Nath Kovind and Meira Kumar. He only needs the support of a couple of neutral parties to sail through.

The Commission’s statement said that five members of Legislative Assemblies were permitted to exercise their vote in Parliament and four MLAs to vote in other State Legislative Assemblies. The total votes come at around 527,371 with 48.10 percent of votes, according to different sources and statistics available.