Lawmakers vote to elect India’s 14th President

The election to choose Indias 14th President saw nearly 100 per cent voting on Monday with Lok Sabha Secretary and Returning Officer Anoop Mishra terming it “probably the highest turnout ever”.

Assistant Returning Officers and Authorized Agents of the contesting Presidential election candidates were also present during the election process.

The ruling BJP exuded confidence that Kovind would win with a “comfortable” margin, while the Opposition said its joint pick Meira Kumar was the best choice in the “clash of ideologies”.

Instances of cross-voting have been reported in five States, including Gujarat, UP, Haryana, Punjab and Tripura, during the presidential polls as MPs and MLAs in the country made a beeline to polling stations to choose the 14th President of the nation.

The people of the Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democratic and Republic India do not elect its own president directly. The final results of the Presidential elections will be announced on Thursday. Last presidential election was held in 2012 where Pranab Mukherjee defeated P.A. Sangma and got over 69 per cent votes.

– A total of 33 observers have been appointed by the ECI to oversee conduct of elections – Two in Parliament and one each in other 31 polling stations situated in the legislative assemblies. For example the total population of Manipur is 1,072,753 (as per the census of 1971, ) and it is divided by 1000 and to that divided by number of MLAs 60. But the value of an MP’s vote does not vary – it is 708.

The elections to appoint our next Indian President is going to be held on Monday.

Besides these two, 14 Rajya Sabha members and 41 Lok Sabha members have also been permitted to cast their votes in the states of their preference. The total value of the votes of the Electoral College, which comprises 776 MPs and 4,120 MLAs, is 10,98,903. So, 98 MLAs belonging to the DMK and its allies will vote for Meira Kumar.

After the ink controversy in the Rajya Sabha polls in Haryana previous year, the EC has chose to give special pens to the electors to mark their votes in the presidential and vice-presidential polls. The ruling NDA is yet to decide on its candidate.