Parliament set for stormy monsoon session from today

The monsoon Session of Parliament, to be held from July 17, 2017 to August 11, 2017, will see a total of 19 sittings and will cover Presidential and Vice-presidential elections.

Observing that differences with China over Kashmir was a new focal point, the Congress today said it would seek a debate in Parliament on the issue, while asserting that the party stood with the government on matters of territorial integrity and national security.

At Tuesday’s meeting, the parties have also made a decision to meet at least once a month to chart out a course to corner the government during the Monsoon Session.

He also said opposition parties will seek a discussion on the India-China standoff in the Dokalam area near the Bhutan trijunction.

Tuesday’s meeting was attended by Congress president Sonia Gandhi, vice-president Rahul Gandhi, Trinamul Congress leader Derek O’Brien, JD (U)’s Sharad Yadav, NCP’s Praful Patel, CPI (M) leader Sitaram Yechury, National Conference leader Omar Abdullah, Samajawadi Party leader Naresh Agrawal, BSP’s Satish Mishra as also leaders from 10 other parties.

Prime Minister Modi on Sunday, without naming Trinamool Congress and Rashtriya Janata Dal, hit out at the corruption plaguing the nation. The firing in Mandsaur district of Madhya Pradesh last month where five farmers were killed will also figure in Opposition attack. It assured them the issue will be resolved diplomatically.

Leaders of the NDA government will meet in the evening to chalk out their strategy to counter the Opposition in Parliament.

“Prime Minister Modi has asked the State Governments to take strict action against the anti-social elements creating violence in the name of cow vigilantism and punish them strictly”, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar said after the all-party meeting here.

A lot of legislative business is lined up by the government in this session, which includes the “The Indian Institutes of Information Technology (Amendment) Bill, 2017”, “The Requisitioning and Acquisition of Immovable Property (Amendment) Bill, 2017”, “The Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains (Amendment) Bill, 2017” in the Lok Sabha. A total of 18 bills has been listed for passage in the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha.